Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Dear Waseme,

I couldn’t wait to get home and write you.  I had a horrible day.  My brothers and sisters wanted to stage a protest to get Martin Luther King’s Birthday off of school.  They went to the principal and said the white kids get to celebrate their Presidents and that we should be allowed to celebrate our hero.  I was kind of confused, because black people should want to celebrate Lincoln, he freed us.  I’m starting to wonder about all this.  I haven’t really been happy.  I miss my old self.  It wasn’t about being black or white; it was just about being me.  Doing the things I like and hanging out with my friends.  It’s too hard to be a revolutionary.  I’m just a kid.  I don’t think I really make a difference to the cause.  I live in a country where people get along.  I feel like I’m turning my back on my mom, and the other half of myself.

We’re having a fashion show for Black History month.  I guess we made some progress, because we celebrate a whole month of black pride.  Ueke (Latoya) is so controlling.  She has the final say in everything we do.  I really don’t think I like her anymore.

Talk to ya later.

