Tags

, , , , , , ,

Well, today I’m a week into my physical and mental renovation and I’m holding strong.  Didn’t do any walking Saturday and Sunday because I had flooring put in which required a ton of heavy lifting and Sunday my back was feeling it.  I’m hoping to get out for a couple of laps today before the rains descend upon us.

I felt it was time to throw a blog out there that would make you feel all warm and fuzzy.

On Thursday, I gathered yet again with some amazing poets to perform at Mavericks High School.  When I arose in the morning, my head really wasn’t in it and I wanted very much to cancel. I knew I was going to have a very busy day with work and the open mic that night.  Nonetheless, I went.  I’m so very glad I did.  It always makes me feel good when I know I’m a part of something as amazing as what we experienced that day.  The kids loved it, the poets bonded over lunch, and I felt like I was part of something bigger than my ever shrinking personal universe.  It was worth every moment spent there and I am grateful for that. Thank you Venus, Darla, Imani, Richard, Khomeni, Pedro, Ben, and Tom.

That afternoon at work we had an open house.  That’s where I met Steve, an amazing drummer that had the kids seriously engaged!  Just watching the passion he exhibited created a two-fold feeling for me.  On the one side I was amazed at how much of his heart and soul were in what he was doing.  On the other hand I came to realize I have misplaced that passion for my own creativity along the way.  Steve had five young men accompany him that were from a juvenile facility (jail). He was working with them and I could see the passion in their eyes as well.  After the open house was over, the woman that works at the facility and I had a conversation about music and I shared that I was an author and a poet.  She immediately got excited and asked it I would be willing to come and perform for the boys.  I immediately thought about the amazing poets I had spent the morning with and told her I could bring an array of poets that would help affect those young men.  I was grateful all over again.

That night, I braved the rain and winds and headed out to The Queen’s Head for the IV Poet’s open mic, only to be disappointed by the low attendance because of the weather.  We were going to cancel the show and head home, but poets are poets and Pedro just lit into a poem.  We ended up sharing poetry in an intimate circle of people just wanting to put their words out there.  Three of the teachers from Mavericks were there and it felt like a circle had been completed.  Pretty awesome actually.

Those are the kinds of days you wrap around you and feel so grateful to experience.  It renews, regenerates, and revives the creative spirit.

That is all.

