Tags

, , , , , ,

I have never been the type of writer that has said, “I can’t do this.”

I feel challenged by every genre out there that gives me the opportunity to paint a picture, describe an emotion, or take a journey with words.

One of my biggest dreams and greatest goals was to have my words in a song.  Since I don’t play an instrument and often call myself tone deaf, I knew I had to challenge one of my very gifted musician friends, Justin Abrams, to put music to my words.

I sent him a poem and this is what came of it. Justin and I share a very emotional moment in my life. Yep, I cried when I heard it!

Every time I listen to this, I know that I can reach any apex I aspire to if I want it bad enough. I also know that the words in this song are where I was just one year ago. I’ve done a lot of healing and that is why I will never stop writing.

Decay (Lyrics by R. MonaLeza, Music by Justin Abrams)

Lyrics:

forgive me for goin’ blind
time has painted me green
one foot on the edge
the other reaching for air
I see the truth behind your eyes
searching for a break in my skin

and I’ll try to breathe again today
betray my will to join the dead
when no one is looking my way
I’ll disregard the words you said
step out of my shades of gray
and pretend I never bled
into my decay

rush to that empty place
that prison called life
with cracks and fissures
in graying walls and empty halls
waiting for the night to call

and I’ll try to breathe again today
betray my will to join the dead
when no one is looking my way
I’ll disregard the words you said
step out of my shades of gray
and pretend I never bled
into my decay
into my decay
into my decay
into my decay

please help me I’m fallin’
please help me I’m fallin’
please help me I’m fallin’
please help me I’m fallin’
please help me I’m fallin’
please help me I’m fallin’
please help me I’m fallin’
please help me I’m fallin’
please help me I’m fallin’
please help me I’m fallin’

Lyrics ©R.MonaLeza 2012
Music ©Justin Abrams 2012

That is all.

