Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

An excerpt from Perceptions of the Feminine, a Non-Fiction account of women I’ve known.

She stood in front of the mirror, ace bandage grasped between slender fingers. With each rotation of the flesh colored band, she breathed in a little deeper. When she was done she turned to the side and and shook her head.

“What’s wrong?” I asked as I tried to imagine what she was seeing.

“I feel so fat and my breasts are still sticking way out.”

I’d heard this from her before. She faced forward again and tilted her head to the side, a haunting sadness in her eyes. I stood behind her as her ribs pushed out against her pale skin and her size A breasts were concealed beneath the bandage. I saw her 5’9′, 75 pound frame and she saw her 5’9′ 200 pound frame. In a sense, I suppose we both saw her reality.

That is all.

