Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Size 7I could approach this subject from a multitude of levels, however, the best way to get my feelings across is to just put a life experience out there.

Saturday night,  my friend Darla and I went out for a glass of wine and some nice relaxing Reggae music at a local bar/coffee shop called the Ale & The Witch.  A nice time was had.  Afterwards, we decided to swing by a local restaurant my daughter works at so I could say hello.  Our next adventure was to walk up Central Avenue in St. Pete just to take in the sights.  Darla, suggested we hit a local night club just off of Central.  Here’s where the story really begins.

Over the past two years I have been on a mission to lose weight after an illness and quitting smoking. At my peak, I weighed 187 pounds.  At one point I was on 7 medications for blood pressure.  My average weight since high school has been between 135 and 140 pounds.  I’m 5’7″ and 54 years old.  Needless to say, when I gained that weight, it had a deep psychological effect on me.  I went on a quest to lose the weight.  Now, two years later, I have accomplished that goal. The funny thing is that during this journey, it began as a body image issue.  As time has progressed and I’ve learned new things, it has become about my overall health and well-being and part of that is having my old body back.

Prior to gaining the weight, there was never a shortage of men that hit up on me.  It was frustrating more than anything else, because I didn’t appreciate being perceived as a piece of ass.  Once I gained the weight, that stopped.  Now that I have lost the weight again, I’ve come to understand the mindset of some men on a whole new level.  Not only were guys checking out my assets, they were surrounding Darla and I (dancing) on the dance floor. I suddenly realized I’d gone from being that undesirable “fat” person, to being a piece of ass again.  It felt like a lose, lose situation to me.  Moreover, it made me mad to realize how shallow people are when it comes to judging others based on their body size.

There is an upside to this.  I believe in writing what I know (my favorite Mark Twain quote”Write what you know”).  Every experience that shapes and moves my life is a story I can write from having lived that experience.  It’s what fulfills me as a writer.  No matter how difficult the journey, there is always a story to write that can hopefully help people.  It’s why I do what I do.  It is my passion and my purpose.

That is all.

