Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Day three was dedicated to not only forgiving others, but also forgiving myself.

I truly believe forgiveness is one of the most difficult steps in transformation. It is so easy to hold onto anger and bitterness, which inevitably consumes its host, the self. The perception that people’s actions are a personal affront with intended malice, stems from an ingrained idea brought on by life experiences that are unpleasant. Don’t get me wrong, oftentimes people do things that are not nice or caring, but other times, how we are affected by another’s actions doesn’t come into play for them. They truly don’t realize their actions hurt us. I know I perpetuate that by not speaking up and voicing how I feel about something or someone. I suppose I’d be able to swing that back around to day two – FEAR.

Will people leave me? Will people hate me? Will people think less of me? Those questions rule behaviors that make me empower others to hurt me. On this day, I embrace forgiveness and release the emotions that have held me back. I forgive those that have hurt me, deceived me, lied to me, and manipulated me. I forgive myself for allowing them to do it. I am not a weak person, my empathy has been my downfall. I am stronger than I think, and braver than I give myself credit for. Through forgiveness, I am liberated.

Stay Tuned…#365daysoftransformation

 

