Tags

, , , , , ,

jan-7Today’s understanding is how passionate I am about WORDS and why.

From a very young age, I was able to articulate things that likely set the foundation for my father’s disdain for me. He never went past 8th grade and after he retired from the military and entered the civilian world, the reality of that hindrance became all too real. He would inevitably ask me to draft his document, letters, and anything else professional required for his job. He never acknowledged my help and pretty much defined it as part of my daughterly duties.

When I left my job, he just short of disowned me for making that choice at such a late stage in my life (39), and told me I should have a secure job with benefits because as a single mom, it was up to me to provide for my children. I tried to explain that I wanted to better my life. It fell upon deaf ears.

I’d fallen in love with words and the power behind them at the age of 11. My life took me far away from writing for a very long time. After returning to school and now having achieved two Masters Degrees, I am more in love with words than ever. My dad did not attend any of my graduations, and for that matter, we have been estranged for over a decade now. I refused to quit despite all of the obstacles.

Writing poetry has literally saved my life more times than I can mention in this short blog post. It has been my best friend, my spiritual guide, my salvation, and finally the impetus for my growth as a human being. I am grateful for every opportunity to write and share my words in the world.

Stay Tuned…#365daysoftransformation

