Tags

, , , , , , ,

GraduationSo, I’ve been writing about some pretty heavy stuff lately. I’ve been writing for a long time now and I have always veiled the true feelings I carried inside. My main reason for writing about this 365 day transformation, is so that I could learn how to release the many things I feel have held me back over the years.

On the upside of my life, I’d like to share the sheer joy of my educational journey since 1998. I decided to got to college at the age of 38. I began my academic career at St. Petersburg Junior College (which is now St. Petersburg College). I worked full time, was a single mom, and went to school full time. I was determined to say the least. I completed my AA degree in two years and went on to the University of Tampa where I earned my BA in Creative Writing (also in two years) and graduated Magna Cum Laude.

I waited patiently for the much talked about MFA in Creative Writing Program to begin at the University of Tampa, but after 10 years of waiting, I decided to attend Arizona State University for a degree in American Media and Popular Culture. I was thrilled to be working toward a Masters Degree. Six months after beginning my degree program UT initiated their MFA Program. I thought about dropping my ASU program, however, I was in beast mode. It was an online program and I quite my job so I could focus on it full time. I began my program in January of 2010 and graduated in May of 2011. So, yes, I was halfway through my program. I finished, received my degree and began teaching at UT in the Communications Department. I was ecstatic.

In January of 2014 I entered the halls of UT as a student again. Yep, I was accepted into the MFA in Creative Writing/Poetry Program. I graduated in January of 2016.

I now hold two Masters Degrees, I teach at a University, and I am so damn proud of myself for following that dream of a higher education almost 20 years ago. I don’t think I’m done yet. I’ve been mulling over a Doctorate, and yes, I absolutely LOVE education!

Stay Tuned…#365daysoftransformation

