Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

TreeI feel Americans, are living in some very mean and combative times.

Our evolution has brought us to this place of technology playing a very integral part in  our everyday lives. Not much happens anymore that is not influenced by the media machine. It is difficult to discern truth and lies from fact and fiction. Everyone has an opinion, which is not a new thing, however, if you disagree with someone’s opinion, they are inclined to be abusive. If you have an opinion and state it, some people feel they can negate, berate, and judge that opinion.

I’ve stayed away from posting anything political on my page, not because I don’t have opinions, but because I don’t have the time or energy to argue with people. It is difficult to be adult about some of these ridiculous interactions and they tend to make anger rise up in me. I’m fighting that living in anger thing, so…I avoid it. I would rather have a conversation face to face than post arguments on a social networking site like Facebook or Twitter. I mean if you really think about it, isn’t it a ridiculous concept to argue with people through such mediums? Will it change someone’s opinion? No. Will it open a respectful line of discourse? No. Will it solve anything? No. So, why bother?

What happened to integrity? What happened to respect? What happened to trying to be civil? I know, we’ve not always had these things in place, however, I feel the level of anger, hatred, bigotry and just plain mean spirited behavior has escalated in light of the political division we are facing. Is it new? Of course not. We had eight years of this with our last President.

Want to know what I feel is different? People that have hated in silence now feel validated in bringing their hatred out into the open because of our current government’s actions. It’s sad really. What will it take to turn this around? Are we capable of redeeming our humanity ever a fraction?

Stay Tuned…#365daysoftransformation

