Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

momo-copyWho am I? Where do my people originate from? Can my ancestry be determined?

I’ve been tempted lately to try and track my familial histories. Because I come from such a diverse background and from two different races, I suppose there would be some major surprises.

All I know at this point is that one side of my family can be tracked for centuries with clear defined bloodlines and origins. That would be my mom’s side of the family. Germanic, Aryan, ties to royalty. The other side of my family’s history is steeped in questions. My ancestors were brought over on slave ships. sold to a plantation owner from Maryland who left his estate to his freed slaves when he died, and a bit of a hitch in all of this because my grandfather was a Boston born Mulatto Blue Blood. That would be my dad’s side of the family.

I don’t suppose I’d have too much luck tracing the heritage and lineage of my dad’s side of the family since all of the records were destroyed when the “big house” burned down. The little bit of research I’ve been able to do indicates the Master bought them in Savannah. I’ve wanted to go there for years and dig around.

I will say I feel quite proud of my people, wherever they came from because they carried a blood line to this new world even though they were shackled to slave ships and put through an unimaginable hell once they got here. There is strength, perseverance, beauty, identity, and determination in my father’s blood line. As for my mom’s side of the family, it’s obvious at some point she really loved my dad. She married a black man and introduced mixed children into a family that took great pride in their “pure” bloodline and lineage. Go, Mom!

I embrace both races that make me who I am, and I have set aside the confusion I’ve carried like a weight upon my shoulders in trying to define myself in some way that made sense. Bottom line, I am of two people, I am of two races, I am the personification of a step two people made to break out of the racist, hater mentality against race mixing. We are all comprised of many bloodlines. The sooner people embrace that reality, the sooner we can work toward eradicating the division we have been forced to hold onto.

Stay Tuned…#365daysoftransformation

 

